'Frantic' Virgin Press Release - Sat 16th Feb

Thumbnail - Click for a larger version

'Frantic' Virgin Press Release
16 February 2002

'Frantic' Press release by Virgin

Virgin records are proud to announce the release of Frantic, the highly anticipated new studio album from rock and pop legend Bryan Ferry. Frantic draws together 13 songs; principally brand new material and a selection of inventive cover versions.

Frantic presents Ferry at his most versatile and is guaranteed to thrill fans of all eras of an illustrious career which continues to musically and stylistically influence music today.

The album features several classic Ferry-esque love songs, enhanced by the inimitably luxurious production of Avalon and As Times Goes By producer Rhett Davies. Nowhere is this more perfectly captured than in the sweeping emotional drive of Nobody Loves Me, and the lilting Cruel and Marilyn Monroe-inspired Goddess of Love both co-written with Dave Stewart.

Yet, evolving and surprising as always, we also find a wholly new Bryan Ferry who has brought seductive elements of bluesy rock and country swing into his repertoire. It comes as no surprise therefore that Frantic includes versions of two Bob Dylan tracks Dont Think Twice and Its All Over Now Baby Blue which kicks off the album and reveals Ferry's superb harmonica skills. The Don Nix blues standard Goin Down continues the trend, whilst Leadbellys classic Goodnight Irene takes on a good ole drinking song quality accompanied by traditional Cajun musicians.

Further down the historical path is a beautiful interpretation of the medieval Ja Hun Hons Pris which leads into A Fool For Love, the former originally written by Richard The Lionheart. Co-producer Colin Good provides the Virginal keyboard parts whilst the soprano voice is that of Mary Nelson, also adding shimmer to the haunting San Simeon. Also highly notable is Hiroshima - a song inspired by the film Hiroshima Mon Amour which features Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood. Other musicians contributing to Frantic include Lucy Wilkins on violin and Sarah Brown on backing vocals, both of whom memorably performed on the hugely successful Roxy Music reunion world tour last year.

The tour also brought Roxy Music drummer Paul Thompson and Ferry back into the studio together for the first time in twenty years, on Fool For Love and San Simeon and Goddess of Love, and guitar parts on Frantic are provided by Chris Spedding who also played with Ferry in the 70s. Perhaps it is then entirely fitting that the album closes with I Thought the fascinating writing collaboration of Ferry with Brian Eno who supplies backing vocals and keyboards.

The title Frantic belies the time put into the making of this album, Ferry's first new song-writing album since 94. However he has notched up three Top 20 albums and two extensive tours in just the last two years.

Frantic firmly re-establishes Bryan Ferry as one of the most thrilling and distinctive performers of our time. The combination of his famous on stage charisma and this portfolio of new material makes his tour in June an exciting prospect.

Tracklisting: Its All Over Now Baby Blue, Cruel, Goin Down, Goddess of Love, Dont Think Twice, Nobody Loves Me, Ja Hun Hons Pris, Fool For Love, Goodnight Irene, Hiroshima, San Simeon, One Way Love, I Thought

Frantic is released in the UK on 15 April.

Previous Article | Next Article